Cover reveals, reviews, and more???

Recent Masquerading Our Love Reviews:

3.0 out of 5 stars
A great story with clean content
ByKindle Customeron August 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition  Verified Purchase
Parents and teens can both be pleased with MASQUERADING OUR LOVE.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4.0 out of 5 starsCaptures the voice of a girl taking her first steps into adulthood, 5 Aug. 2017

This review is from: Masquerading Our Love (A Stonehaven High Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)

As someone who doesn’t read many YA novels, I had to think back to the stories I liked to read when in my early teens – I realised this one ticked the main boxes:

1. Thalía and CM have the sort of all encompassing love that teenage girls dream about
2. Although Thalía is trying her best to make grown-up decisions from her perspective as a ‘new adult’, the narration still captures her younger voice
3. Thalía’s thoughts and opinions are not completely dismissed by the adults around them (as is often the case in real life!) so she gets the chance to stand up for herself and make a difference to her own life

Although it’s the first book in a series, the story is completed within this first book, with no annoying cliffhangers!

My reason for four stars and not five? The plot sometimes feels thickly laid and overly spelled out – although this could simply because I’m used to the subtleties of adult fiction.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

on August 2, 2017
a hopeful and amazing book thanks

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4.0 out of 5 starsStrong Christian vibe

on July 10, 2017
If you want a clean Christian read this is for you. I had a hard time with the MC”s perfection, thus the star reduction. I wish she would have been a little more rebellious and then learned from that rebellion, making her a more rounded and realistic character. Also the author needed a better editor. It was kind of hard to read since she never reset the scenes.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for teens, July 9, 2017
By FunnyC!

Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Thinking About Love, Part 1 (A Stonehaven High Series Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This author must either has teens at home or remembers what it was like at that age because she nailed the teen voice. A few times I wanted to give Trina a shake but then reminded myself that she’s still in high school, lol. And Stuart’s behavior really had me wondering how he was going to turn out. Genuine or a creepy stalker? All the jumbled emotions, angst, and the desire to fall in love that run through the pages of this book brought back memories of how I used to think at that age. We tend to forget the enormous amount of pressure kids are under at those ages. The struggle they face of wanting so badly to become an adult while still hanging on to the threads of childhood pulsate through the story, especially within the conflict. I wish Frank and Carol’s issues would have been resolved within this book, but apparently, I’ll have to read the next to find out what happen there.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

on June 29, 2017
A modern day Romeo and Juliet style romance set in Florida. I felt that Thalia was an excellent role model for younger readers and she sets a good example, always trying to do the right thing for her. This was a great read! I highly recommend this book!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars… quite a hard one review because I really did enjoy the story and my heart is saying to give …

on June 29, 2017
This is quite a hard one review because I really did enjoy the story and my heart is saying to give it a 5 but my head is saying 4. I’ll write my review and come to a decision after I’ve finished it. A lovely clean romance story which is quite hard to come by nowadays. However, I did find the beginning quite confusing and a bit slow. Once I started getting into it I really enjoyed it. Most of the characters had great personalities and we’re very well developed. This is another of my struggles as the one character I didn’t connect with and found their attitude a bit annoying and immature at times was the main character Thalia. The dialogue became a bit confusing at times as it was quite hard to distinguish which character was speaking. OK I’m coming to the end and I think I will have to give it 4.5 /5 and knock half a point of for the above. Because, once I got into the story, it was a page Turner and you can’t give half stars I will rate on review sites as 5. As this was the authors first book I believe even with the few problems a 5 is deserved and relates to the book more than a 4. I recommend this book to any fans of romance and for young adults.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 starsFate is Unstoppable

on June 11, 2017
Young Thalia and Christopher find themselves torn between fate and the devotion they feel toward their parents in this YA love story. The pace is steady and there are enough plot twists to keep readers engaged. As a public school junior high and high school English teacher, I can definitely picture my students reading this book along with subsequent books in this series. While minor characters are not fully developed, Thalia and Christopher are romantic, yet relatable, characters who make it easy for readers to cheer for them. A clean cut romance that is suitable for young adults.

 

on June 9, 2017
I looooove teen romance. It brings nostalgia back to my own teenage love, which feels like a few lifetimes ago. I thought the author did a great job at writing a clean, teen romance without the normal garbage that I have to read. Thalia respected her parents and herself. The only complaint I have is that the dialog gets a little messy at times. I’m a fast reader, and often I had to go back and re-read sections of it to know who was saying what and figure out what exactly was going on. However, I would read another book by this author. I liked the story, a lot.

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Another wonderful review for Masquerading Our Love! Thank you so much Hayley Morgan. Now back to incorporating my amazing beta readers’ suggestions. Thinking About Love, Part 1 will be better for it. [June 2nd, 2017]

0 Comments

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my review in any way and the thoughts expressed are my own.

Thalia and Christopher’s love story has more than a few challenges to overcome. Set in a couple of neighbouring small towns the two teens accidental fall in love with the one person that they shouldn’t. If that doesn’t have you intrigued I don’t know what will!

In the beginning of the novel, Thalia is consumed by thoughts of a boy she met for half an hour at a local Parade months ago. No matter how hard she tries she can’t get him out of her mind. On top of that, she has to deal with being a transfer student in a challenging new school and the unwanted advances of Dave, the school’s top sleezes-bag. One day at the beach Thalia is a boat accident and rescued by none other than her Parade Guy.

I loved seeing her first meeting with Christoper after months of daydreaming about him. Like many people, she tries to play it cool, downplaying her interest in Christoper for fear he doesn’t feel the same. It was very relatable, making my stomach turn with Thalia’s butterflies and smiling at her amusing thoughts. From the every beginning we were deep in Thalia’s mind, knowing her thoughts and feelings. She was well developed with multiple layers to her personality. Doing well in school, obeying her parents, being a good friend and her religion are all very important to her. It’s hard trying to suss out if your crush is interested in you, let alone knows you exist. Thankfully for Thalia, Christopher confesses he likes her that same day. I was so grateful, I don’t think my nerves couldn’t handle not knowing for much longer.

Unfortunately, that’s when things became complicated. Thalia’s parents are very conservative with a strict rule that she isn’t allowed to date until she turns seventeen. Even when she doesn’t turn seventeen, they have strict dating rules; she can’t go out with a boy they don’t know, it has to be in a group, etc. Such strict rules on dating are something many teenagers can relate to, much to their frustration. But Christoper won’t let that stop him! He’s so into her that he is determined to wait and be her first date after her birthday. I love Christopher, he’s such a sweet, understanding and downright determined guy. He’s determined to jump through so many hoops to date a girl he hardly knows, all the while not knowing if she’ll say yes to going out with him against her parents’ strict dating rules. His joking, teasing banter with his friends is very entertaining but all the time he’s thinking of Thalia, making sure no one’s jokes will upset her. He’s constantly looking out for his sister, Cynthia, even chaperoning her dates like a good, protective brother.

All the characters are well-rounded, developed and interesting. That alone deserves praise. Even the school sleeze has multiple layers to his personality. It feels like the author has taken real people and turned them into a story, but, unlike many that attempt this, it actually works. It sounds like there are a complex line up characters which could make keeping track of them all very confusing. Luckily, there are enough characters that it feels like a real girl’s life in a small town but, not too many that it’s difficult to read.

Once the two have decided to be together that when everything falls apart. For Thalia’s entire life she’s known her parents have a feud with another local family, the Coopers, refusing to even let their children speak to each other. To her horror, Thalia discovers that Christopher is their son. Though she knows she shouldn’t have feelings for him, Thalia can’t help it. Christopher feels the same. Over the next couple months, he develops a complex plan in order to be able to date the girl he’s infatuated with.

Things just get more complicated as the novel continues. From the very first page, I found I was completely sucked into the story. The various conflicting elements made this contemporary novel one that I actually enjoyed for a change. I give it 4/5.

                                    

                

My first short story is FREE in the You and Me Forever: A Sweet Romance Collection

You & Me Forever: A Sweet Romance Collection by [Megan Linski, T. Ariyanna, Cindy Ray Hale, Pamita Rao, Amy Reece, Audrey Rich, Constance Roberts, Yesenia Vargas]
Eight Short Stories
Over 10 hours of reading from Eight Bestselling and New Authors!
Available April 25th for Free on Amazon, iBooks, and B&N
Includes my first short story: Where’s There’s Smoke There’s Fire in one Anthology.
Available soon!

Masquerading Our Love Reviews:

masquerading-our-love_kindle

Loved my first unsolicited review!

ReviewFirst of all, thank you to Audrey Rich for me an ecopy of her novel. It was a pleasure to discover your world!

Have you ever fell in love with a book from the very first page? I have with this novel. Seriously, I was already convinced that I would love this story thanks to the synopsis but it was even more the truth when I started the first chapter. I loved everything about it: the writing, the characters, the plot, absolutely everything!
But let’s be clearer… Talking about the writing, I love how Audrey Rich managed to deal with suspense and romance. The story and the characters are so cute, it warmed my heart! I couldn’t have enough of these beautiful words, I had to read more and more chapters, even if I didn’t have time to do so. But at the same time, there was suspense between the different chapters and it gave another dimension to the story. This is not a romance like others, there is this little more which makes the difference. I smiled, I laughed, I tried to guess what was going to happen and I cried when I discovered a detail that blew my mind away. And what a beautiful end! I won’t say much about it because I don’t want to spoil you, but I couldn’t imagine it and I’m so happy with it! Once again, my heart is full of joy!

Thank you Audrey for giving me such a beautiful time reading your novel!

You can find this review and other ones on Alycia’s blog: Alyttérature..

Solicited Reviews:

(These reviews I asked for. Okay, maybe I begged and cried and I wasn’t above using the old fashioned” poor me I don’t have any reviews”pity shout-out. Seriously, these reviews are special because I asked others who  declined but these wonderful people read and reviewed my debut novel and they didn’t have to. So many thanks!):

5.0 out of 5 stars Great readon November 23, 2016

Masquerading Our Love is a Christian fiction romance, clean, without bad language or inappropriate scenes.
Although romance / coming of age is not my usual genre of choice, I am actually happy I picked this one up. The story is well thought through, the characters believable and I found myself getting involved in the plot. The author has a nice style of writing about a very relevant subjects, parental obligations, faith, insecurities, learning to swim ! I would recommend this book to any YA reader looking for a satisfying clean novel about young blossoming love.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing YA teen romance novel!on December 7, 2016 Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

This is a great YA novel!! I bought the book for my 14 year old daughter and it’s perfect! I loved the fact that it is smut-free but still filled with teen romance. My daughter loves teen romance novels! When I read the book to make sure it was appropriate for her, it echoed a modern Romeo and Juliet story with an interesting ending. Kudos to the author given this was her first book. I am looking forward to Ms. Rich’s future work for my daughter to read.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Great job! Looking forward to more from Audrey!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This story is so outside my preferred genre, that I admit to being nervous about not being able to finish it. That said, I read it in 24 hours. What a pleasant and wholesome read! It is so refreshing today to be able to find a book that is sweet without being sappy. There are some wonderful Christian values that never come across as preachy or over-the-top. This would be an excellent read for any young adult. It certainly captures what it is to be young and in love. There were times when I thought that the young lady was a little too head over heals for the fella, but then I remembered what I was like in high school, and I realized that Ms. Rich hit it on the nose. There are some serious subjects addressed in the book, but they made the story so real! I found the characters to be extremely likable while still having enough flaws and insecurities to keep them from devolving into “Mary Sue” type personas. If you are looking for a sweet romance, you will not be disappointed in this story.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

When she’s rescued from a near-drowning off the beach in South Florida, Thalia is chagrined to discover she has a massive crush on her rescuer, rich and handsome Christopher. Luckily for her, Christopher has the hots for her, too. But Thalia has a problem. Her parents won’t allow her to date, and no matter how hard her heart beats for Christopher, she refuses to compromise her character by lying to them. But things get worse when Thalia realizes her parents and Christopher’s parents despise each other and neither family approves of their love.

It was nice to see a main character struggling with her conscience as she tries to do the right thing. This is a clean read with no cursing or drug or alcohol use. The characters go to church and are good people, but the religious aspect is low key. I also appreciated that the main character was Hispanic. This is an enjoyable clean, sweet romance for teens.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The first book in Stonehaven High, is a positive well written story. It’s very PG and aimed at a younger audience. I don’t usually read YA, but I found this book to be enjoyable, it had believable characters and good flowing plot. This book is perfect for anyone wanting a clean smutty free YA romance.

*I received a free copy of this book from the author*

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4.0 out of 5 starsRespectable Young Adult Romanceon February 19, 2017 Format: Kindle Edition

The story explores the feelings, passions and adventures that you go through as a teenager, which are conveyed in a clean cut way. It is a book that I will recommend to my own daughter when she is older. Definitely recommended!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 starsA great YA novel!on March 7, 2017 Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase

This is a sweet romance and perfect for young adults. It’s about Thalia’s feelings, her conscience and her relationship with her strict parents. And of course, it’s about Christopher and her crush on him. This book is well written and a lovely read!
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4.0 out of 5 starsThis book artfully captures first love and the roller coaster ride that emotions coupled with …on March 23, 2017

Format: Kindle Edition

This book artfully captures first love and the roller coaster ride that emotions coupled with insecurities take. It is a timely story for Young Adults and a nostalgic read for Mature Adults. I look forward to reading the remaining books in the series.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is probably one of the hardest books I’ve ever had to review. And the reason why is because I LOVED the story, but there were some issues that made it distracting. I feel the best way to review it is to break it down into categories.
Overall story I rate with FIVE stars and I do recommend the book to others who like teen romance and books where lessons are learned. The story idea itself is terrific. The author not only conquers the subject of obedience to one’s parents, but also the importance of forgiveness and communication. Some people might think that Thalia and Christopher are too young to recognize that they are in love. I disagree. There is a long history of young marriages in my family – most right out of high school – Many of us have made wonderful, sound marriages with very few divorces among us. Thalia is a good Christian girl who is torn between her love for Christopher and her obligation to be an obedient daughter, showing that even Christians aren’t perfect. I love that. I also love that Thalia isn’t afraid to tell her mother that what she really wants in life is to be a wife and mother. This is a decision that someone should be able to make without judgment. The characterization I would rate with FOUR stars. I feel the author did a great job on Thalia and Christopher, but I didn’t get a strong sense of falling in love with the other characters. In other words, I didn’t feel as if I knew them that well. Four is still pretty good. Story structure and flow. I have to rate this with a FOUR because although I felt the story flow was great, I found the dialogue in many places confusing. There were several instances of dialogue where I couldn’t tell until the end of the conversation which character was speaking. A few more he said/she said tags or location description would have helped this. If I were to have rated this book half-way through, I could have honestly only given it a THREE-star rating due to the structure problems and typos in the book. However, I was intrigued enough to stick to it to the end. As the story went on, I became hooked and couldn’t put it down, waiting to find out what happened and what the big fallout between the two teens’ mothers was. As I did finish the book, I was able to upgrade to FOUR stars. Without the issues I pointed out, I definitely would have rated it with five stars. Well-done, Audrey. It’s a great first novel.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 starsHave to applaud the author on a well-written adventure into first Love, and beyondon May 17, 2017

Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Was transported to a sweeter time as I read this book. Got caught up in the innocence and complexity of pre-adult characters. And I languished in their sincerity. Have to applaud the author on a well-written adventure into first Love, and beyond. But even more… Thanks for reminding me of the purity of love at the apex of discovery. WELL-DONE!

Reviews on Amazon

Enter the Stonehaven High Series and find out what love is all about!

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: