Thinking About Love, Part 1 Reviews

I’m so thankful for reviews. Every single review brings a smile to my face because it means that the reviewer read my story.

Thank you so much reviewers for showing me love with your review!

5.0 out of 5 starsBeautiful Girl Meets Gorgeous Guy, But….

on October 4, 2017
What do you do when conviction and desire collide? Which wins? “Thinking About Love” is a heart-warming story about a high school junior, Trina Weber, falling for a college freshman, Stuart Grant. The thing is that he fell for her too – hard. It seemed like a match made in heaven until Trina discovered a little kink in Stuart’s armor that was more than a little problem. I thoroughly enjoyed the book as it presented real challenges people face in relationships and the struggle to be true to yourself. This book will be enjoyable to any audience but especially to teens and young adults.

 

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars
Thinking About Love, Part 1 is the second book in the …
BySara Pucketton September 4, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
Thinking About Love, Part 1 is the second book in the Stonehaven High series that is written by Audrey Rich. I highly recommend reading this book. Trina Weber is a bright junior in high school who is working towards her future plans in the medical field, while balancing time to be able to spend with her friends at any opportunity she may have. The story brings the reader to the end of Trina’s spring break where she is enjoying time with her friends and her twin brother at the beach, where Trina sees a glimpse of a new lifeguard that may spike an interest for her. Throughout Thinking About Love, the reader sees the development of this relationship between Trina and the new lifeguard, as well as some struggles they have with starting out a relationship. Audrey Rich has captured a great insight to the starting of a relationship with teenagers as well as incorporating faith and their beliefs in their relationship. As a reader, I was unable to put Thinking About Love down because I was wanting to continue to read Trina’s story to find out how her new relationship developed. I look forward to reading Audrey Rich’s other book in the Stonehaven High series as well as Thinking About Love, Part 2. For my honest review, I received a copy of this book.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

on September 1, 2017
Thinking About Love
by Audrey Rich
Review by Jessica Secrest
It struck me as funny a moment ago, that the author titled this story, “Thinking About Love.” Not the title itself, but because I have been thinking about this story for a few days. I have been trying to think of what to write about it beyond, “I liked it.” Or “I enjoyed it.” I did enjoy it. The story kept me turning the page.
This story is part 1 of Trina Weber’s tale. You see the world through her eyes. She’s an interesting person. Trina describes herself as being a part of the in-crowd. She has good grades and high ambitions. She wants to become a family doctor. She volunteers at church and at the hospital.
The story takes place in South Florida. It is spring break. Trina and her twin brother, Jason, are meeting their friends for a day in the sun at the beach.
Stuart Grant is a lifeguard who is struck by Trina’s beauty. He calls her Miss Beautiful throughout the story. He likes her playfulness and her imperfections that shows a more human side of her.
The first half of the story takes place at the beach. The reader is introduced to Trina’s circle of friends. They get to know them as Trina perceives them, although her insights might not be as accurate as she thinks.
The romance between Trina and Stuart is steady. It is two people getting to know each other at a slow pace. As the story is written from Trina’s perspective you get to see her vulnerabilities, insecurities, and uncertainties. At one point, Jason doesn’t tell Trina that Stuart will meet her at the bowling alley. Jason thought it would be a nice surprise, but the couple argue. Trina doesn’t believe Stuart when he says, he did text Jason. This left me with the impression that Trina is a bit cold and distrustful.
Near the beginning of the story, Trina asks Stuart about church. He brushes it off as he is not interested. Trina’s faith is important to her. She finally invites Stuart to got to church with her one evening. He flat out refuses.
To me his reason is vague. “Too many people judging me.” I wanted to know why he felt this way.
They stop seeing each other. I really like how the author brought them back together. I wonder if in part 2 we see the relationship through Stuart’s eyes.
It will be interesting to see if this relationship can work out. Stuart is going out of state to attend college. Trina has another year of high school and all of the years that it takes to become a doctor.
I really did enjoy this story. I appreciated that the author emphasized relationships over physical touch. I liked that the author had Trina stand by her values even when it meant losing Stuart. I recommend this story.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

3.0 out of 5 stars
Great for Teenage Girls!
ByAnne Jones on August 24, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
I’m too old for this book, LOL!! 😉 I definitely think young pre-teen girls would enjoy it as it focuses on the nature of friendships, first loves, and the anticipation of college and changes that come with that transition. At first, I had a difficult time keeping all of the characters straight, and I think our protagonist could definitely gain some more maturity in future books! As a Christian, I wished I would have learned more about what her faith meant to her, how it had changed her or helped her in her life. I also wish that she would have been more true to her inner self and less focused on material things/ external appearances/ fitting in with the crowd. However, I know that these are all challenges that high school teens struggle with. I also wish that she wouldn’t treat the object of her affection with so much idolization before she really knows who he is and whether he will ever become a Christian. I think future books in the series may answer this question for us as we learn more about Stuart’s choices and Trina’s relationship with him! All in all, I think it would be a great book for teenage girls to read and then discuss with them afterward and talk about the issues and topics the book raises. The author definitely is in touch with her inner teen girl!! I received a copy of this book in exchange for my fair and honest opinion.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 starsGood read

on August 8, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
First love and teen challenges. The story depicts and confronts the challenges teens face, especially Christian teens. Trying to fit in but still stay true to their faith. Trina a young ambitious girl with her future mapped out and her budding relationship with Stuart. I like the way the author developed the characters, it will be interesting to see where she takes them next. If you are looking for a good clean book for a teen in your life, I would recommend this one.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

4.0 out of 5 stars
A book that got a teenager to read – WOW!
ByMeandthemuttson July 28, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
This review is based on my thoughts and those of a teenage family member who also read the story.
I knew from the outset this book was aimed at the YA market, but nonetheless felt the summary could reach across all age groups. I wasn’t wrong – it’s a thoughtful read, looking at how a young girl sees her life playing out before her, only for the dream ‘Gorgeous guy’ to not fit her plans as she hoped and expected.
For me, the start was a little drawn out – but, my teenage reader – who, by the way, hardly ever reads a book – loved it. All that teenage angst and pressure was very realistic for her. She loved the characters and could relate them to her own peer group. She’s asked me to get any more books by this author too – so kudos to you, Audrey Rich – you may have converted her to reading.
I accept I’m not the intended audience, and despite that I still enjoyed the story. The setting was lovely, the antics at time funny and the drama very well adapted. A refreshing read.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars
This is a great story for teenage girls 27 July 2017
By Kelly – Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition
This is a great story for teenage girls! The characters are well drawn and the situations very real to life. I felt like I knew each one of them personally and got caught up in their activities and their thoughts. Trina became almost a daughter to me as I read. In this day and age of violence and horror, it is refreshing to read about young people with strong moral convictions and actions. I am looking forward to reading more about these teenagers’ lives and loves.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars
Another great book from the author! 22 July 2017
By V.C. – Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is Audrey Rich’s 2nd book in her Stonehaven High collection. I read the first book, Masquerading Our Love, and enjoyed it very much. Her 2nd book is a wonderful addition. The author does an excellent job in building the relationship among the two main characters, Trina and Stuart. An unlikely couple with strong convictions, come together. After a short courtship, their relationship is tested. But it crumbles as each one holds onto their values. As in her last book, the book was beautifully written. It is a perfect, very clean YA. I will definitely be buying the author’s next book in the series!

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great book for teens 9 July 2017
By FunnyC! – Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This author must either has teens at home or remembers what it was like at that age because she nailed the teen voice. A few times I wanted to give Trina a shake but then reminded myself that she’s still in high school, lol. And Stuart’s behavior really had me wondering how he was going to turn out. Genuine or a creepy stalker? All the jumbled emotions, angst, and the desire to fall in love that run through the pages of this book brought back memories of how I used to think at that age. We tend to forget the enormous amount of pressure kids are under at those ages. The struggle they face of wanting so badly to become an adult while still hanging on to the threads of childhood pulsate through the story, especially within the conflict. I wish Frank and Carol’s issues would have been resolved within this book, but apparently, I’ll have to read the next to find out what happen there.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved this series! 2 July 2017
By B. K. Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This is a great book to read on a rainy day, meaning, it’s a quick and easy read. I had already read the first book by this wonderful author and knew the characters so I knew what to expect. It was incredibly easy to stick right into this. I felt like I was back in high school reading this at times! All the drama and teenage angst! I liked how well the author connected this book and the characters with the first book she wrote too. Very cool.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars
A must read
ByEmilyon June 25, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition
Brilliantly written. The author has again expertly touched the hearts and minds of what it is like to be young and thinking about love. Loved the story and highly

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

5.0 out of 5 stars This book will satisfy the teenager in you (especially the one who likes hunky lifeguards)! 13 Jun. 2017

By Amazon Reviewer Published on Amazon.com
Format: Kindle Edition

Audrey Rich has done it again! I read Masquerading Our Love and was so excited to find out there was a “prequel” for the whole Stonehaven High series. Ms. Rich is so skilled at getting into the minds of teenagers. She does a thorough job of conveying their complex (and often times confusing!) emotions and experiences in a realistic way. I enjoyed how this story gave a different perspective on some of the events from Masquerading Our Love, and also introduces more of the characters from Stonehaven. This book will surely satisfy the teenager in you (especially the one who likes hunky lifeguards)! Highly recommended.

*I received an ARC of this book with no obligation to review.

Want to know when there’s a new book or a sale? Follow the blog and/or the following places and be the first to know:

          

 

 

 

Advertisements